

PREMIERE FOR FRAUNHOFER IFAM: JOSEPH VON FRAUNHOFER PRIZE 2010 AWARDED TO VOLKMAR STENZEL, YVONNE WILKE, AND MANFRED PESCHKA

"Research for practice solutions" – The Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft has since 1978 presented awards to its employees for outstanding scientific work that develops brilliant and practical solutions for application-oriented problems.

On May 19, 2010 Dr. Volkmar Stenzel, Yvonne Wilke, and Manfred Peschka of the Fraunhofer IFAM were awarded this prestigious prize at the annual meeting of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft in Leipzig. The award was for their development of the innovative "sharkskin" riblet coating system – a premiere in the history of the Bremer institute.

600 invited guests from politics, industry, and science congregated in the Central Theater in Leipzig to, amongst other things, acclaim the Joseph von Fraunhofer prizewinners. The prizewinning projects were presented in a fascinating show by the former ZDF presenter Steffen Seibert. The Minister for Education and Research, Prof. Dr. Annette Schavan, was a guest of honor. She explained the high-tech strategy of the federal government and spoke about activities relating to "the future of energy" year of science. During the award ceremony Prof. Dr. Hans-Jörg Bullinger, President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, went on to say: "Those who want to shape the future must act in the present. Scientists and engineers occupy key positions and their work directly affects how we will live in the future."

The challenges not only of tomorrow but also of today include energy-saving, resource-saving, and environmental protection: The riblet coating system developed by Dr. Volkmar Stenzel, Yvonne Wilke, and Manfred Peschka, together with their teams in the Paint/Lacquer Technology and Adhesive Bonding Technology sections of Fraunhofer Institute of Manufacturing Technology and Advanced Materials IFAM, has the potential to lower fuel consumption and CO₂ emissions, and hence to sustainably lower costs in particular for the aviation and shipping industries (see pages 70 and 93).

CONTACT

Institute

Fraunhofer Institute for Manufacturing Technology and Advanced Materials IFAM, Department of Adhesive Bonding Technology and Surfaces, Bremen

- 1 The Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize 2010.
- 2 Prof. Dr. Annette Schavan, Federal Minister for Education and Research (middle), and Prof. Dr. Hans-Jörg Bullinger, President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft (right), together with prizewinners Manfred Peschka, Yvonne Wilke and Dr. Volkmar Stenzel (first row, from right to left next to Dr. Annette Schavan) at the annual meeting of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft in Leipzig.